Better Together

photo (12)

There are just some things in this world that are better together: Peanut Butter and Jelly, Batman and Robin, vacation and sunshine. You remove one of the two and you’re still left with something pretty great, but it seems, well, incomplete.

Lately, Micah has been doing some traveling for work. He ventures to the hidden gems of America like Quincy, Florida and Indianola, Mississippi, while I’m back at home making dinner for one and watching CSI re-runs in my sweats. I try to mask my loneliness by focusing on the positives of having the house to myself…

  • I can eat cereal for dinner, and breakfast…OK, and lunch too.
  • “My side of the bed” takes on a whole new meaning – FREEDOM!
  • I can lock the TV down with hours of criminal show marathons.
  • I can finally rent the new Nicholas Sparks DVD.
  • I don’t have to stumble around in the dark, tripping over Nike’s and yesterdays pants, while getting ready for work.

Obviously I live a pretty glamorous life!

While being “Woman of the House” is liberating for all of maybe, one day, I am constantly reminded that I am missing my better half. The dishes from yesterday didn’t magically disappear by the time I got home from work. The front door apparently doesn’t lock itself at night. No new, half drank water bottle appeared on the nightstand. The good hairspray is missing!! All signs point to…no Micah 😦

We were pretty blessed (although some may call it strange) because we were married for over 3 years before we ever spent a single night apart from each other. If you could imagine a scared, crying kid, clinging to the leg of his mom on the first day kindergarten, with tears and snot running down his face – our first night apart was worse than that!

Call it strange, call it pathetic, call it love. Some things are just better together: Peanut Butter and Jelly, Batman and Robin, vacation and sunshine…Micah and Olivia.

Leave a Reply

